Lemon Nut Cookies

I admit I multi-task whenever I can and combining exercise with watching television is no-brainer for me. I do it whenever I can and the other night while on my treadmill I watched Everyday Italian with Giada DeLaurentiis. Talk about perfect timing. I’d been thinking about what I would make with those lemons Ellie sent me. There were three recipes featuring lemons. I struck gold! Or, lemon.

Get your lemons ready and a pot of tea nice and hot because these cookies were perfect for a wintery afternoon. The cornmeal added a nice but unexpected texture. The lemon zest powdered sugar that the cookies were dredged in was awesome. I just loved it. It was kind of like biting into summer when I bit into the cookie. That little zing of citrus was perfect. From their appearance they looked light but they really are a hearty cookie that isn’t sweet. This cookie has landed a spot on my Christmas Cookie list. Enough writing, lets get baking.

I measured out the flour, cornmeal, powdered sugar and salt.

The juice of a few lemons and their zest.

Pine nuts were toasted. Be sure to keep an eye on them, you don’t want to burn them.

Beat butter and powdered sugar. Then add vanilla, lemon juice and zest.

Pulse dry ingredients until finely ground.

Combine wet and dry ingredients to make cookie dough.

The dough needs to chill for thirty minutes.

Take remaining powdered sugar and combine with remaining lemon zest.

Time to scoop and roll. With the dough out of the fridge, I used a small ice cream scoop to get cookies the same size.

Ready to go in the oven.

Now for a little cookie luv.

And finally, a snow day wouldn’t be complete with taking Susie outside for a run in the snow. I swear, she thinks she’s a St. Bernard.

I hope you’ll be inspired to try the Lemon Nut Cookie recipe. You’ll find the recipe over at the Cooking Channel. Enjoy!

Debra
The Cookbook Diva

5 thoughts on “Lemon Nut Cookies

  1. Hi Kalyn, Thanks for visiting. Don’t fret about roasting nuts. It’s very simple. Keep an eye on them, it only takes a few minutes, and when you start to smell them then they are really close to being done. I don’t stray too far from the oven when they’re in there. Have a great weekend.

Leave a Reply

