Mac n’ Cheese

This weekend significant snow finally came to Connecticut so it was the perfect weekend for comfort food. I was inspired by Fine Cooking’s article on Macaroni & Cheese.

Fine Cooking magazine cover

The premise of this article is that you can follow a simple method to customize the dish to your liking. And that’s what I did. I followed their guidelines for amounts of ingredients and added the cheeses I wanted. This time around I opted not to add extras, likes peas or bacon or broccoli. I did follow their recipe for the topping. But the next time around I’ll be changing that. More on that later.

Here’s my version of mac n’ cheese using Fine Cooking’s guidelines.

Get your topping ready. Breadcrumbs, garlic and Parmesan cheese. You’ll also melt 3 tablespoons of butter.

Next, grate the cheese.

Vermont Cheddar.

Parmesan

Monterey Jack

Melt Butter for the cheese sauce.

Once the butter is melted add the milk, 1/4 cup all-purpose flour, kosher salt then add the cheeses.

When the cheese sauce is cooked add the 1 pound of elbow macaroni and stir.

Transfer the pasta to a baking dish and cover with the breadcrumb mixture. Cook for 15 minutes at 350 degrees.

The recipe said to serve immediately. But, this being a food blog there had to be some pictures snapped first.

The mac n’ cheese was delicious. Creamy, cheesey, gooey. Comfort food at it’s best. I also loved the garlic in the bread crumbs. It definitely added another dimension to the flavors. However, the topping was a little too much. As you saw in the picture how thick the topping was and for me it overwhelmed the pasta and cheese. And lets face it, that’s the star of the dish not the breaded topping. I also don’t think the fifteen minutes was enough to get the whole top browned and cooked. There were some spots of the topping that tasted uncooked.

With that said, my baking dish may be a smidge smaller than the one used in the magazine, so that could account for some of the “extra” topping I had. Now, if you like a thicker breadcrumb topping then this is perfect for you.
So, will I make this cover dish again? Absolutely. I’m excited to try some of the other combinations. I’m intrigued by the suggestion that I could use fresh baby artichokes and goat cheese I have want to.

I’ll leave you with one more picture.

πŸ™‚

Debra
The Cookbook Diva

4 thoughts on “Mac n’ Cheese

  1. It looks rich and delicious! I’m glad that you shared the heads-up on the topping. Also, I’m with you on the goat cheese & baby artichokes πŸ™‚

  2. Hi Pauline, Thanks for visiting. Definitely try the mac n’ cheese. My husband loved it but requested next time I don’t use the breadcrumbs. πŸ™‚ It’s all about the cheese. Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

