A Smart Fridge

We’re twenty plus days into a new year and I know we all have big plans. Maybe remodeling your kitchen is on your list for this year. I remember when we remodeled our kitchen a few years ago. There were so many choices in countertops, flooring, cabinets, lighting and appliances. And with technology moving at the speed of light it’s easy to be outdated in a matter of months.

So, what do you do? We decided to go with quality appliances from quality brands. But I do admit that there are some pretty niffy things happening with technology and kitchen appliances that leave me a little envious. Just a smidge. (I love my kitchen and wouldn’t trade it for anything, sweetheart.)

The International Consumer Electrons Show (CES) is a major technology-related trade show held in Las Vegas. It isn’t open to the public and hosts previews of products and new product announcements. The first CES was held in 1967. I was really curious to know what the cutting edge technology was shown back then. I did a quick search and came up with a press release about the first CES and one of the topic that had a presentation was the audio tape player and on view was the latest pocket radios and TVs sporting integrated circuits. The next year, a Portable Executive Telephone was shown. It cost over $2,000, weighed just under 20 pounds and required an FCC license to operate.

My, how times have changed.

Take a look at LG’s Smart Fridge. It’s a cool refrigerator. Seriously cool. It cools a can of soda or bottle of wine in just 8 minutes. It has a smart shopping feature that allows you to scan bar codes to make up a grocery list and recommends recipes based on what’s inside your refrigerator. You can even view your calendar or photographs. How smart is that?

Take a look the LG Smart Fridge.

Looks like we’re a long way from 1967.

Debra
The Cookbook Diva

2 thoughts on “A Smart Fridge

  1. What? Oh my goodness. I totally want one of these refrigerators, I’m still using the fridge my Mom bought with the house back in the late 1970’s. I can’t wait to see what the price will be.

Leave a Reply

