Perfect for a Chilly Morning – Blueberry Muffins

Well, we finally had snow here in Connecticut. The white stuff covered our cars, our roads and caused quite a few fender benders (that wasn’t a good thing). But the rain came and quickly washed the snow away. Honestly, I wasn’t sad to see it melt. And according to our weather forecast there’s more on the way.

But, there is something special about a snowy morning. The gentle snowflakes, the cold air and a stillness that is unique to snowfall. And there’s nothing better on a snowy morning than something hot out of the oven. Like blueberry muffins.

I love Blueberry muffins, especially on chilly morning. So I decided to whip up a batch and pour myself a cup of tea. And, no I didn’t eat all of them. I shared. And these muffins pack a little extra perk. Made with whole-wheat flour, yogurt (a little kick of calcium) and the antioxidants from the blueberries these muffins are healthy for you.

Mix together the dry ingredients.

Combine the wet ingredients and you end up with the yogurt mixture.

Add the yogurt mixture to the flour mixture; stir until just moist. Then fold in the blueberries.

Spoon into muffin tins.

When baked, let cool on wire racks.

As I said, I didn’t eat all of them. I shared with my co-workers. 🙂

Before we get to the recipe, I just wanted to let you know that I’ve decided what recipe to make with the California lemons. I’m going to keep it a secret for now. Okay, I’ll tell you that I’m baking. I plan on baking over the weekend, so check back to see what I whip up.

Blueberry Muffins

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup whole-wheat flour
1 cup quick=cooking oats
1 cup granulated sugar
1 tbs baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
2 cups vanilla low-fat yogurt
1/2 cup fat-free milk
3 tbs canola oil
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 large egg, slightly beaten
1 1/2 cup fresh blueberries
Cooking spray

Streusel:

1/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 cup slivered almonds, chopped
1 tbs brown sugar
1 tbs butter, melted

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

Spray muffin tin cups with cooking spray.

To prepare muffins, lightly spoon flours into dry measuring cups, level with a knife. Combine flours, oats, granulated sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a large bowl, stirring with a whisk. Make a well in the center of the mixture.

Combine yogurt, milk, oil, vanilla and egg, stirring with a whisk.

Add yogurt mixture to flour mixture, stir just until moist. Fold in blueberries.

Spoon 2 rounded tablespoons batter into each of the muffin tin cups.

To prepare streusel, combine 1/4 cup all-purpose flour, almonds, brown sugar and butter. Sprinkle evenly over batter.

Bake at 400 degrees for 15-17 minutes or until muffins spring back when touched lightly in center. Cool in pans for 10 minutes on a wire rack, remove from pans. Serve warm or at room temperature.

Yield: 2 – 2 1/2 dozen

5 thoughts on “Perfect for a Chilly Morning – Blueberry Muffins

  1. Hi Pauline,

    Thanks for visiting. I just made cookies using lemons I’ve received from California. Too bad Ellie couldn’t send me your gal’s weather in the box too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

