Asparagus, Goat Cheese & Bacon Tart

The recipe I decided to try in Fine Cooking In Season cookbook was the Asparagus, Goat Cheese & Bacon Tart recipe. It had three things I love – asparagus, bacon and puff pastry – and one thing I was unfamiliar with – goat cheese. So I couldn’t resist trying the recipe and whipped it up as soon as I could. Of course, while I was cooking the bacon my little guy, Billy, joined me by the stove top and no doubt he was hoping I’d drop a piece.

Okay, on with the recipe.

Asparagus and a shallot.

Bacon.

Get the bacon sizzling and crunchy.

When bacon is cooked, removed the slices to a paper towel lined plate.

Add shallots to pan then the asparagus into pan and cook until tender.

Add the bacon back in and cook for another few minutes. I can’t tell you how incredible the kitchen smelled. Yep, Billy was still by my side.

Remove the mixture from the pan and begin work on the puff pastry.

I rolled out the puff pastry to a rectangle on a sheet of parchment paper.

I cut and pat the goat cheese on the puff pastry.

I sprinkled the asparagus, shallot and bacon mix over the goat cheese being careful to leave an inch border.

I made an egg wash to brush around the border of the tart.

As the tart baked, the aroma that filled my kitchen was amazing. The bacon, the asparagus and the puff pastry. Mmm. Mmm. Mmm. I knew it was going to be good. But I had to wait. Wait. Wait.

Finally!

I served up the tart with a side of fettuccine and a whole-wheat roll.


So, what did it taste like? The combination of the salty bacon and creamy goat cheese with the burst of freshness from the asparagus was awesome. This is a great dish for spring and summer. Perfect for brunch or a luncheon. The only thing I would do differently next time is change up the amount of puff pastry used. The recipe called for a half-pound of puff pastry to be rolled out to a 10×16 inch rectangle. I found it to be too thin and difficult to eat (but I managed πŸ™‚ ). This is something I would look to change next time. Otherwise, it was very good and easy to make.

That’s all for now. But, I want to remind you that if you haven’t entered the giveaway to win a copy of In Season click here and post a comment so you’ll be entered in the contest.

null

Debra
The Cookbook Diva

22 thoughts on “Asparagus, Goat Cheese & Bacon Tart

  1. What does goat cheese taste like? Is it similar in taste & texture of anything else to give me a possible idea of what to expect? I’ve been tempted to try it but being a chicken about it.

  2. Hi OneBlonde,

    This was the first time I tried goat cheese. When I was buying it there were a lot of choices. I chose a small log rather than a container of crumple goat cheese, sort of like the feta I buy for salads. I found the flavor of the goat cheese to be milder than feta and it was very creamy and very white. I liked it. I would have it again. And from what I’ve read about goat cheese (definitely not an expert) depending upon the goats (I guess what they graze on, etc.) used the cheese can vary in flavor. I say(from one blonde to another), go for it. Give it a try. Let me know how you like it. Also, don’t forget to comment on Monday’s review of In Season if you’d like a chance to win the cookbook if you haven’t already.

  3. Carolee, You had goats? We discussed getting them a few years ago. But, we settled for ducks instead. πŸ™‚ Hmm, broccoli? If you try it, make sure to let me know how it turned out. Okay?

  4. This looks yummy, so happens I’m having asparagus for dinner tonight, with zucchini, potatoes and salmon.

    Thanks for stopping by Hip to be Mom and following. I came by to follow back but can’t seem to find the GFC button.

  5. Hi Glenda, Thanks for visiting. The GFC button has been elusive here on this site. I’m moving to self-hosted in a couple of weeks so it’ll work there. Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

