Fine Cooking In Season & Giveaway

null

Paperback: 320 pages
Publisher: Taunton Press (February 22, 2011)
ISBN-13: 978-1600853036

The familiar – corn, pears, summer squash, cucumbers, plums, olives.

The not-so-familiar – stinging nettles, kohlrabi, sunchokes.

From Early Spring to Winter, the editors of Fine Cooking magazine have compiled 300 recipes complete with beautiful photographs and all the info you need to purchase, prepare, store and serve the bounty of each season.

This book is not only a recipe book, it’s a guide on how to select the best of the best in season. This spring will you be looking for Fava Beans? If so, you’ll want to look for the heavy, brightly colored pods that show bumps from the beans inside. You’ll want to steer clear of the very large beans, which can be starchier than the tender and sweet small to medium beans. Who knew?

Ever wonder how to keep Fiddleheads fresh when you bring them home? Keep them wrapped in a plastic bag in the fridge and use them within two days.

You’ll be introduced to 10 types of olives and given 4 recipes along with three other recipe ideas. Page after page you’ll be counting down the days to the opening of your local farmer’s market or to when you can plant your vegetable garden.

A sampling of recipes you’ll find:

Cinnamon-Rhubard Muffins
Four dressings to showcase your lettuces
Beef Tenderloin with Medallions with a Rosemary and Thyme Crust
Chilled Oven-Roasted Yellow Pepper soup
Gingerbread Pear Cobbler

Some recipes are quick and easy, others are a bit more advanced. But regardless of your cooking skill level, you will find recipes to prepare. Now, similar to the Cooking Light cookbook I recently reviewed, In Season is a compilation of recipes from Fine Cooking magazine. If you’re a long-time reader like I am you’ll appreciate the ease of opening one book rather than flipping through pages of multiple magazines to find a recipe for bananas.

The recipe I’ve chosen to make and share Wednesday is the Asparagus, Goat Cheese, and Bacon Tart. Be sure to check back for the pictures and my experience.

This is a book that probably won’t make it to my bookcase because of it’s variety of recipes and wealth of information inside it be a go-to book for me. And it could be a go-to book for you. I have a copy of In Season to give away.

Giveaway Instructions:

How to enter? Simply leave a comment here. The contest runs from Monday, March 7th to Sunday 13th (11:59). I will announce the winner on Monday, March 14th.

27 thoughts on “Fine Cooking In Season & Giveaway

  1. Hi Brenda, Thanks for stopping by. This book surprised me. The tips on how to select veggies & fruit are priceless. I always feel I’m throwing money away in the produce section.

    Good luck!

  2. So nice to find your site, not much of a cook but i;ve always loved cookbooks! I’m happily following you back from MBC. Thanks for visiting me! I look foward to more of your posts!

  3. Good luck, Debbie! You’re right, it is a wonderful book. It’s beautiful, great recipes & tons of info to help not waste money when shopping. I look forward to Munchie Monday next week. Glad I stopped by. Have a great night.

  4. Debra,

    What amazing talent you have! I love reading your posts!
    Sorry I was sick last week but I just wanted to say thank you for joining our Welcome Wednesday blog hop! We hope to see you stop by weekly and even maybe enter some of our giveaways and check out our freebies & deals! We are so happy to be new followers of your blog and can’t wait to come back! You are more than welcome to grab our special Welcome Wednesday button which will link you directly to our hop each week & that also helps spread the word about our great event!

    THANKS!
    Kristin & Jaime

    Take It From Me

  5. I absolutely love cookbooks! My favorites are Nigella, Jamie Oliver and Tessa Kiros. I also have a cooking blog!
    I love yours! I get your posted emailed to my phone.
    Thanks for the great giveaway!
    Mika (www.mikaspantry.blogspot.com)
    tytanbay3 at cox dot net

  6. Thank you for joining me at Create With Joy, and thanks for the chance to win this fabulous cookbook! I love cookbooks also and would LOVE to add this wonderful edition to my collection!

    I will add your giveaway to my sidebar as well!

    Have a fabulous weekend!

    Ramona

Leave a Reply

