Bon Appetit’s Cocoa Brownies with Browned Butter & Walnuts

null

I made these brownies and I have one word to describe them.

Decadent.

There, I’m done. Recipe review complete. 🙂

Okay, I know I have to give more details. These brownies were chewy and fudgy yet there integrity of the brownie was still present. The deep chocolate flavor burst in my mouth and the crunchiness of the walnuts added texture. These brownies were easy to make and disappeared just as fast as the whole batter came together.

Lets take a look at the making of this awesome treat.

Sugar, unsweetened cocoa powder & flour (the recipe called for 1/2 cup plus 1 tablespoon, so I measured them out separately).

Butter, eggs, vanilla & walnuts.

Melting the butter.

Melted butter.

Does anything look as good as melted butter? The butter had to cook until it stopped foaming.

The butter cooked for five minutes then I removed the pan from the stove top.

The cocoa powder, sugar and vanilla are added immediately. Also, the recipe called for 2 teaspoons of water to be added along with a 1/4 teaspoon salt. These two items weren’t listed in the ingredients list, which didn’t make me happy. I like to have all the ingredients measured out and waiting for me.

While the batter cooled, I chopped the walnuts.

Now it was time to add the eggs. One at a time.

Time for a workout (which is a good thing because you’ll definitely want to eat more just one brownie). The batter needs to be beaten vigorously after each egg is added. You want a shiny, thick batter.

Add flour.

Another chance to burn some calories. Beat vigorously again. Just a moment to admire how beautiful this pool of chocolate looks.

Time to add the walnuts.

Pour batter into prepared pan and it’s time for a little clean-up. But a spoon coated with chocolate shouldn’t just be rinsed off. 🙂 Yum.

The oven is ready and the batter is evenly spread out in the foil-lined pan. Time to bake the brownies.

30 minutes later and the brownies are baked. But they have to cool. Darn.

When cooled, the brownies can be cut. I found it easier to cut on the foil then transfer to a platter.

Finally! They cooled and were ready to be tasted. Outrageous. Heaven. Time for another bite.

So, do I have another brownie….

Or, be good and have a bowl of fruit?

This recipe is definitely a winner in my book. It was easy, fast and delicious. I took the platter over to my neighbors and each brownie quickly disappeared. Next time I probably would make two batches because one didn’t seem to be enough.

Since I do not have rights to reprint the recipe, you can click here to be linked directly with the recipe on Bon Appetite’s site.

As I mentioned above, the ingredient list did not lay out every ingredient used to make the brownie batter. It missed the water and salt. This slip leads me to the Word of The Day:

Mise en place – “Put in place.” The preparation and assembly of ingredients, pans, utensils, and plates or serving pieces needed for a particular dish or service period.

Debra
The Cookbook Diva

25 thoughts on “Bon Appetit’s Cocoa Brownies with Browned Butter & Walnuts

  1. Michelle, You don’t like chocolate? How’s that possible. It’s almost unimaginable to me. Though, it would be a bonus for my waistline. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by & have a great day.

  2. I cannot wait to try this recipe!!! I haven’t made a ‘from scratch’ brownie in a long time, but I will try this one.
    Thanks.
    By the way, I’ve been searching for a long time for an old Crisco cookbook recipe – Chocolate Cake with Orange Icing – and I thought you may be able to help.
    Keep up the great blog!

  3. Good morning Jill. Those brownies were yummy. And I was a good girl, I ate the bowl of fruit rather than take another brownie. However, the next day was a different story. 🙂
    Have a great Sunday.

  4. I have a ton of cookbooks and always love to read about other who enjoy them as well.

    Your brownies look like a bit of heaven in a pan. Yum! Do you deliver to Montana? I giggled at the gratuitous shot of a bowl of fruit. Who needs fruit when you have brownies?

    Stopping by via: Weekend Blog Hop and signed up for your page.

  5. Hi Bernie, Thanks for stopping by. I would love to deliver to Montana. I LOVE Montana. We visited went we went to Yellowstone. Awesome country. I’m so glad you visited today. Have a great Sunday.

  6. Hello, I saw you on the mom bloggers club and thought you had a wonderful blog. i love the brownies and can’t wait to try them out. Please follow my blog as well, I’m trying to reach 200 followers. Please leave me a comment so we can get to know one another.

  7. I know I just gained 10 lbs looking at this! Delish!

    Here wishing you a belated Follow Me Back Tuesday. Thanks for joining us!

Leave a Reply

