Ginger and Lemon Roasted Chicken with Braised Fennel

Five ingredients. One recipe. And a new dish that will feed my family again. I decided to make the Ginger and Lemon Roasted Chicken with Braised Fennel on page 120 of Claire Robinson’s 5 Ingredient Fix for dinner and not only was it easy but it was tasty. My husband said it had a nice flavor to it and it did. When I ate my first forkful there was a burst of ginger which was subtle and refreshing. And with winter still holding on tightly, it was a welcomed surprise. I can’t tell you how many times I made Lemon chicken so this was a nice departure. This dish was a success. Juicy, tender, flavorful. Exactly what we strive for in a roasted chicken.

Okay, on with the pictures.

Fennel. Interesting, isn’t it? I’ve never cooked with it before. And I won’t be again. I didn’t care for the taste.

Ginger. This was a nice little kick to the chicken and something I wouldn’t have thought of on my own.

Two lemons.

Lemons and ginger sliced, ready for cooking.

Making of the compound butter for the chicken. Zest of lemon, chopped ginger and butter. (I think the magic is right here in this little mixture.)

Fennel prepped and ready for cooking. Bulbs ready to be quartered. Stalks ready to be put into the chicken’s cavity and fronds ready for garnish.

Fennel bulbs quartered.

One organic chicken (Remember my review earlier this week? These recipes require the best possible ingredients you can buy.)

Compound butter rubbed under skin. (Not very attractive, but definitely tasty)

Chicken after twenty minutes at 425 degrees. Slices of ginger is added to the fennel & lemons. Then back into the oven for another 1 1/2 hours.

Isn’t it pretty?

Another angle.

Now what we have been waiting for. Dinner. Plated and ready to eat.

What I realized after I made this dish was that quick and easy doesn’t have to come from processed and prepackaged foods. We are all time-starved and we end up in menu planning ruts where we grab for the easiest and fastest. With recipes like this we can have easy and simple without sacrificing taste or quality. I’ll definitely be trying some more of Claire’s recipes.

Debra
The Cookbook Diva

12 thoughts on “Ginger and Lemon Roasted Chicken with Braised Fennel

Leave a Reply

