A Tasting

Today I thought I’d share with you some of the videos I found on YouTube and a new feature to my blog which I am excited about. But first, today has been a cold, gray and rainy day here so my thoughts immediately went to soup. Thick, hearty, piping hot soup. And I decided to make a pot of my Roasted Butternut Squash soup which is just right for a nasty day like today. I’ve posted the recipe and pictures of making it awhile ago. So, click here for the recipe.

Now onto the videos.

Melissa Clark, the author of In the Kitchen with a Good Appetite. This video was filmed as a part of the Know Your Food series from The Good Cook Book Club.

Next up is Bethenny Frankel, the author of Naturally Thin and The Skinny Girl Dish. She’s also my favorite housewife and her new show airs this coming Monday. Yay!

To wrap up this Tasting of videos, I gotta add some Barefoot Contessa action.

Ina Garten is the Barefoot Contessa, author of several books and host of the Food Network’s show of the same name.

Now, for my new feature. Word of the Day. I thought I’d add this to my blog because I want to learn. I don’t believe we should ever stop learning and since this blog is focused on food I’ve decided to brush up on some food terminology. Now, as a cook yourself you may already know these words and their meanings. But there are some people out there who are novices, who are just beginning their cooking journey or people like myself who have been cooking for awhile and still need refreshing and/or further education. 🙂

I guess what inspired me was French Food at Home this afternoon. The dessert Laura Calder made required a Bain Marie. Now, all serious bakers know what a Bain Marie is but if a beginner baker was reading a recipe that required a Bain Marie she/he wouldn’t know what that was. Most of my friends don’t because they aren’t bakers. So the word of the day today is can you guess? Bain Marie.

Bain Marie – A hot-water bath used to protect delicate foods from heat that is too intense. A bain-marie is used in three ways:
a. A double-boiler on the stove
b. To keep cooked food warm until serving
c. A container holding food is immersed into water to bake custards or other desserts in the oven, this provides constant and even heat which protects the food from overcooking.

Now, just one more thing before I sign off. I’d like to take a moment to thank all of you for visiting my blog. This was an idea I had a few months ago and I was really excited about it. But I had no idea of how much I would enjoy writing this blog. Your visits, your comments and your subscribing to my little piece of the blogosphere means so much to me. Thank you!

Debra
The Cookbook Diva

18 thoughts on “A Tasting

  1. Excellent video choices! This is a great blog and I have it bookmarked. I would follow you, but I can’t seem to locate a follow option here. If you could let me know how I follow you in wordpress I will gladly hook up 🙂

  2. Thanks for visiting Lynn. Right now TCBD is pretty bare bones. I’ll be moving to self-hosted in a few weeks and there will have have options for following. I can’t wait! Have a great day!

  3. Oh my gosh, I love the word of the day idea! I’d never heard the term Bain Marie .

    Since I like to learn something new everyday, it well worth my time to visit today 🙂

    Plus, I like to cook and eat myself!

    I’m visiting from Newbieville on Mom Bloggers Club.

    I’m not such a newbie…here are my main blogs:

    Blogging Biz Mom

    While there, feel free to subscribe to my newsletter and join the Blogging Buddies group

    Workingathomeadvice.com

    Come on home – mom blog

    Have a grand day!

  4. Thanks for visiting Carolee. I’ll be doing Word of the Day on a regular basis so definitely it out. I like the idea of learning something new every day even if it’s a little word. I have to go and search around Newbieville. I’ll definitely check out your blogs. Have a great day!

  5. Thanks for stopping by and following. When you switch over to self-hosting, I will have to come back and follow you.

    Also, thank you for taking the time to put our button on your sidebar.

    If you get a chance, be sure to come over and enter the giveaway I have going on for a Lovable Labels GC. I use their labels to mark all my dishes that are used to transport food. Thought I would offer 😉 http://bit.ly/feoelP

  6. I’m always looking for good food blogs and I’ve found one right here. Looking at your header–is seems we have a lot of the same cookbooks. Can’t wait to click around and see what other cool things you have posted. Found you on MBC–I’m a new follower. Feel free to check out my blog.

  7. Hi MissMoe,

    Thanks for stopping by and for your kind words. It’s great that we share several of the same books (that’s just one section of one shelf) so we’ll have a lot to talk about. I’ll be stopping by your blog later today. Have a great Monday.

    Debra

  8. Hi Gina,

    Thanks for stopping by. I thought YouTube was all about goofy videos until one day…there’s a whole bunch of useful stuff out there. Have a great day.

    Debra

  9. I may have to steal that word of the day idea! Fantastic! Thanks for the lovely post on the blog first of all. yes, I am in a pickle and no, there are no services where I am so my mother in law will be the washing service….

    You know I do know what a bain marie is and I brought a special one home from Paris once but it is relegated to a box. I use a glass bowl over a pan of simmering water now more to melt my chocolate (yes, I do eat chocolate…dark, luscious and not all fair trade either….Good and french!) or to make zabaglione and you know, your blog has brought out the Suzie Homemaker in me!! You choose such great videos….

  10. Hi Jacqueline,

    Dark French chocolate? Delicious. And as I said, it’s hard to be Green all the time. I guess the important thing is to finish it all and not throw one morsel out. 🙂 I’ve never made zabaglione. You’ll have to make it and post it. Have a great day!

    Debra

Leave a Reply

