Vanilla-Glazed Pork Chops with Cipollini Onions

My plan last night was to make the Vanilla-Glazed Pork Chops with Cipollini Onions with Roasted Asparagus with Balsamic Browned Butter from the Cooking Light cookbook that I discussed a couple of days ago. It’s always good to have a plan, right? So lets take a look at last night in my kitchen.

A plan – check
A recipe – check
Ingredients (from the recipe which I added to my grocery list) – check
Time to make dinner – check

So what went wrong?
Let me count the ways.

It all began when I began prepping my ingredients. You know what? I’ll share those special moments while I show you the pictures from last night.

Cipollini onions. I love these little onions though my eyes tear when I peel them. That I don’t like so much. But they are cute.

A little salt and pepper for the boneless chops. Brown sugar and cornstarch…I mean flour (This is the first deep sigh). I thought I had cornstarch. I was wrong. And finally, canola oil.

The wine. I like pouring wine from a wine glass when I’m cooking. Don’t know why, just do. And in hindsight, I probably should have just drank it. Because (second deep sigh) I read the recipe and saw the word vanilla in the ingredient list. I missed the BEAN part. Vanilla Bean. I decided to grab my bottle of vanilla and add a splash to the wine. How bad could it be?

Balsamic vinegar.

Two boneless center-cut loin pork chops.

Okay, I get the pan heated and put in the chops and onions. Things are looking up. Time to start prepping the asparagus. I go into my fridge and search high and low. (Third deep sigh) No asparagus. I forgot to buy it. Now what? I pull open the freezer drawer and find a bag of broccoli. Okay, that will work. I search the index of the cookbook for a broccoli recipe. I don’t find one. (Fourth deep sigh) The bag goes in the mircowave for six minutes.

After cooking on both sides for 4 minutes each, I added the wine and vanilla mixture. šŸ™‚ Then cover with a lid and let cook for 20 minutes.

After twenty minutes, I removed the pork chops and onions then mixed together the balsamic vinegar, brown sugar and flour. The mixture got added to the wine sauce in the pan. I brought it to a boil and let cook another minute.

See, sauce!

The sauce is ready, the rice is cooked and the broccoli is drained. Time for dinner. Plated my food then got my camera. My dinner is ready for its close-up. As I looked through lens I noticed the plate looked a little bland, boring, lifeless. White rice, white onions and not-so-browned pork chops since they were really steamed. Parsley would spruce up the plate, a little green. Oh, well. I set the camera aside, cut the pork chop in half and remove it to another plate for leftovers and cut into my first piece and take a bite. Moist. Then for some reason I glanced over at the sink. (Fifth deep sigh?)Yeah, my broccoli is still in the colander. That would have been my little bit of green on my plate.

(This picture could have been better.)

Fast forward to bedtime. I’d just rested my head on my pillow and my mind was racing with thoughts about this post (that what bloggers do, think 24/7 about their blog) and realized that when my husband came home (he was a little late) I served him dinner but forgot the onions. (Sixth deep sigh? I’m losing count.)

There you have it, a night in my kitchen. Sometimes I wondered how I’ve been able to feed my family all these years. But despite myself, dinner came out really well. Dinner with an ample side of SIGH. šŸ™‚

The pork was moist, the onions were tender and the sauce was a little sweet but still had the integrity of the wine. All in all, this was a good meal. The index labeled the dish as Quick and Easy and it certainly was. This means it will most likely make another appearance on my dinner table in the near future. Hopefully, this means that I’ll have all the ingredients. You know, sometimes my friends worry about screwing up in the kitchen. I tell them it’s not the end of the world. My post tonight is case-in-point. There are times when you need to wing it and the most important part of winging it is to graciously accept the compliment and don’t explain. Just enjoy the moment. And the meal.

Debra
The Cookbook Diva

13 thoughts on “Vanilla-Glazed Pork Chops with Cipollini Onions

  1. I am ready for dinner and this looks fantastic. Yum! šŸ™‚

    Thanks for stopping by today and linking up with us for the Thursday’s Friends Cafe. Love that you joined us!

    Have a great evening.

  2. Ok, you have me hooked! What time shall I come over? šŸ˜‰ We are a family that LOVES to eat and though I try very hard to make it organic, it doesn’t mean boring and so finding THIS site, which, if you haven’t guessed, I think is already fantastic, is just a treasure. What a great job you have done. Thanks for coming to my little blog and leaving your info because if you hadn’t I wouldn’t have known what a hidden treasure you really are!

  3. Hi Jacqueline,

    Thanks for the kind words! I’m so glad you like my site. It’s new and a work in progress. I look forward to your visits and I’ll definitely be visiting your site, The Organic Blonde, which I’ve set up a link on my blogroll for. Have a great day.

  4. Oh you are too cute… You have no idea you had me at PORK chops. I live in the middle east and NEVER get them… it’s not aloud….don’t get me started. But the cippolini onions??? wow, I get the same ones basically but organic from Lebanon and do this and have to use veal. You said the sauce was a little sweet… Balsamic is like that when reduced but if you add a touch of either lemon juice or red wine vinegar, it will balance it out…. You could also add MORE wine which is my fix for everything…. Try adding a few baby turnips to the mix the same way you do the onions but steam them for a few minutes first! Heaven on a plate.

  5. Dear Debra,

    This is how it always is in my kitchen and probably the reason I gave up cooking but I did so enjoy your post, and will now follow your blog, glad I found you, and thank you for having your own identity.

    Hoppin on over on Sunday morning from Az. and mommy hea dadventures Sunday Blog Hop, and look forward to hopping into you again sometime soon.

    Have a Hoppy Sunday and see you next week!

    Leila
    http://azsbsm.wordpress.com/
    Meet me on Sunday

    http://azfillerpack.wordpress.com/
    The Bag of Business Blog Hop

  6. P.S. I just noticed you too are a wordpresser, though it is supposedly one of the largets blog platforms out there we seem to be very few and far between on the blog hop scene.

    Leila

  7. Hi Leila,

    Thanks for stopping by today for a visit. And you’re right, I see a lot more Blogger platforms than wordpress on these blogs. I’m more comfortable with wordpress. Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

