All-New Complete Cooking Light Cookbook

All-New Complete Cooking Light Cookbook

Hardcover: 560 pages
Publisher: Oxmoor House; First Edition edition (September 1, 2006)
ISBN-10: 0848730232
ISBN-13: 978-0848730239

null

This book was published in 2006 and I’ve been cooking from it since then. I love this cookbook (I also love Cooking Light magazine) and it hasn’t failed me yet. It is broken down into 18 themes and takes the beginner to advanced cook from information on healthy cooking to vegetable side dishes to hearty stews.

In the Healthy Cooking section we are given information on the good and the bad fats, we learn why carbs belong in a healthful diet and how much fiber an average person should have every day. There are also tips for stocking a kitchen with the right tools and essential cookware. There’s a nice section on entertaining with 10 quick and easy menus. For the experienced cook and those who have been eating healthfully for years, you may find these sections unnecessary and you’ll pass over them. I understand. But they serve a purpose for new cooks and those beginning a healthy lifestyle program.

While you may pass over the first couple of sections of this book, you won’t want to pass on any of the recipes. I have to admit that I’m hesitant to purchase healthy, low-calorie, reduced fat cookbooks because the recipes don’t usually turn out right and I don’t like the ingredients.

Quick story, a few months ago I saw a healthy cookbook on a shopping channel and the table full of delicious looking food got me interested. I resisted though (good thing) but my neighbor purchased the book. One afternoon in her kitchen I browsed through the book. I was immediately struck by the artificial substitutes the author relied on. I use sugar. I use butter. I do my best to avoid lists of ingredients that I need a chemistry degree to understand. In this Cooking Light book you’ll find real foods.

I just flipped open the book and I’m on page 225. Vanilla-Scented Harvest Crisps with Pistachios. Lets browse the ingredients. Butter (small amount), dried figs, dried cranberries, brown sugar, honey, Granny Smith apples, oats, cinnamon and pistachios. 12 servings at 272 calories each. I haven’t tried this recipe but I will. It sounds delicious. Page 305 you’ll find a Rustic Grilled Pizza recipe. You see, this book is filled with recipes for real food your family will eat and leave you feeling good that you’ve prepared and served healthy meals.

You’ll find Test Kitchen Tips throughout the book as well as menu ideas. At the end of the book you’ll find a list of common ingredient substitutions and a glossary.

This week I will be making Vanilla-Glazed Pork Chops with Cipollini Onions and Roasted Asparagus with Balsamic Browned Butter. 5 asparagus spears will be 45 calories in butter. Can it get any better? Yeah, I could make the Vanilla-Scented Harvest Crisp and serve that for dessert. I’ll share the results of this meal with you later in the week.

So, if you’re looking for a new healthy cookbook to add to your collection you should give this one a try.

Debra
The Cookbook Diva

6 thoughts on “All-New Complete Cooking Light Cookbook

  1. Hi Debra, I am happily new to your site. I have a question following this review. You see I have HUNDREDS of cookbooks and that is only after I culled a previous hundred or so replacing those with more healthy ones. I have a version of this cookbook but not the latest version. Is it your practice to go right out and get the most current and updated when they come out with it? I have this one and the Best Of Cooking Light. It just seems like a revolving door in some sense.

    I am with you on the real ingredients one doesn’t require a degree to pronounce and a tank of gas to locate. Who knows what they do to our body. I am from Vermont and always use butter and cheese telling the kids that margarine is less than 1/2 molecule away from being plastic.

    Have a great week!
    Kal

  2. Hi Kal,

    Thanks for stopping by for a visit. Love your view on margarine. šŸ™‚ As for my reviews, there will be a mix of books that I already have or that I borrow from friends/neighbors as well as newer ones to brand-spanking new. The last two books I reviewed were just that, brand-spanking new. I currently have three newer books waiting for me to read through and to cook from.

    Have a great day,
    Debra

Leave a Reply

