Food Network Magazine – Italian Issue

This week my meal planning is coming from cooking magazines and dinner was Balsamic Steak with Radicchio in the newest issue of The Food Network Magazine (pg 77). This issue is all about Italian food and I would advise not to read this magazine on an empty stomach. Yeah, there are that many recipes in there I’m dying to try.

null

A sampling? How about 50 Things to do with Pesto. I love pesto. Pesto meatballs? Doesn’t that sound interesting? There’s also a Mix & Match Baked Pasta section. 6 easy steps and dinner will be on the table in no-time. The pasta dish that intrigues me is the Agnolotti with Artichoke sauce. Doesn’t that sound yummy? But the recipe I’m eager to make is the Chocolate-Hazelnut Tart. I’ve been seeing recipes using Nutella popping up all over the place so I think I need to pick up a jar and try it.

Okay, lets get to dinner.

The recipe called for 4 6-ounce beef eye round steaks, which I bought. But for dinner I only used two.

Other ingredients included butter, balsamic vinegar, sugar, garlic and chicken broth.

Can’t forget the radicchio.

Sear steaks until golden brown.

Steaks out, radicchio in and make the pan sauce.

And dinner is served.

I love it when a dinner comes together in a matter of minutes. This wasn’t hard, it wasn’t time-consuming but it tasted like a lot of effort went into it. I served a side of rice and green beans to round out the meal. When the magazine first premiered I subscribed (how could I not subscribe to a cooking magazine?) but I never made any of the recipes. I let my subscription lapse when it expired and I bought this issue on the newsstand. This is the first recipe I’ve made from the magazine and it won’t be my last. This dish gave me everything I was looking for – it tasted good, the flavors were unexpected, the ingredients were readily accessible and it was all pulled together in under 30 minutes which is perfect for a weeknight dinner.

Clean-up now beckons me. 🙂

Debra

The Cookbook Diva

7 thoughts on “Food Network Magazine – Italian Issue

  1. This looks sooo good. I’ve been craving steak lately! I have just subscribed to receive your blog in my email. I look forward to following along. Have a great weekend, Candace

  2. Hi Candace,

    Thanks for stopping by. If you’ve been thinking about steak, try this recipe. It’s fast, easy and I forgot to mention in my post – affordable for a weeknight meal. Thanks for subscribing. I’ll be hopping over to your blog in a bit.

    Have a great day,
    Debra

  3. Hi Tricia,

    Thanks for visiting and leaving a comment. I’m new to blogging so I have to ask – GFC? Not sure what that is. One of those feeder things? hahahaha. Yeah, I’m so technical.

    I’ll be hopping over to your blog in a bit.

    Have a great day,
    Debra

Leave a Reply

