Red Velvet Cupcakes

In honor of Valentine’s Day and our anniversary, I decided to make Red Velvet Cupcakes. I had to search through my recipe box for this recipe, it’s been awhile since I’ve made them. Hands down my favorite cupcake is chocolate, but this cupcake is a close second. I think it’s the color and the cream cheese frosting that tops it. It’s a very happy cupcake. And it tastes pretty darn good too. I should know, I’ve just had two. πŸ™‚ ( I guess that means I’ll be hitting the treadmill tomorrow.) Right now, I have fingertips covered in red food coloring and an apron dusted heavily with flour and sugar. What a great night. Come into my kitchen and take a look at how I made these cupcakes.

The dry ingredients: all-purpose flour, sugar, baking soda, salt & cocoa powder.

Sift the dry ingredients together.

Measure the wet ingredients. Vinegar, eggs and vanilla.

Red food coloring.

Buttermilk and canola oil (not pictured).

Combine the wet ingredients with mixer.

Add dry ingredients.

Cupcake batter! Doesn’t this just say “cheery”?

Fill evenly among the 24 cup and bake.

While the cupcakes bake, make the Cream Cheese frosting. You’ll need cream cheese, butter and vanilla.

Beat the three ingredients together.

Then measure out the confectioners’ sugar.

The frosting is ready for the cupcakes, which need to cool before they can be frosted.

Aren’t they beautiful?

But wait, it gets prettier.

There you have it. My Red Velvet Cupcakes. It’s been awhile since I’ve baked. Christmas usually zaps a lot of my baking energy and I need time to recover. And tonight was time to do a little baking. I’ve included my recipe below. If you decide to whip up a batch, I hope you enjoy them.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/2 cups sugar
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1 tsp cocoa powder
1 1/2 cups canola oil
1 cup buttermilk, at room temp
2 large eggs, at room temp
2 tbs red food coloring (not gel)
1 tsp white vinegar
1 tsp vanilla extract

Cream Cheese frosting

1 pound cream cheese, softened
2 sticks butter, softened
1 tsp vanilla extract
4 cups sifted confectioners’ sugar

Strawberries or raspberries for garnish.

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line 2 (12 cup) muffin tins with cupcake liners.

In a medium mixing bowl, sift together the flour, sugar, baking soda, salt and cocoa powder. In a large bowl, beat together the oil, buttermilk, eggs, food coloring, vinegar and vanilla with a handheld electric mixer. Add the sifted dry ingredients to the wet and mix until smooth and thoroughly combined.

Dived the batter among the papered cups to about 2/3 filled. Bake for about 18-22 minutes. Test the cupcakes with a toothpick for doneness. Remove from oven and let cool completely on racks before frosting.

To make the frosting:

In a large bowl, beat the cream cheese, butter and vanilla together until smooth. Add the sugar on low speed, beat until incorporated. Increase the speed and beat until light and fluffy.

Frost and garnish with fruit if desired.

Enjoy!

Debra

The Cookbook Diva

8 thoughts on “Red Velvet Cupcakes

  1. thanks for stopping by my blog. You need to come cook for me. And yes it is more of a breakfast..It is a large wedding so she thinks they have to have the bridesmaids luncheon ooober early. I am going to check out some of your recipes. I am sure I will get some great ideas here. stay warm. It was beautiful here today.

  2. Hi Amy,

    Since the weather is so warm where you are now, I might take you up on your offer. LOL!!! The breakfast sounds lovely and it should be wonderful. Since my blog is so new, I have few recipes on it at the moment. I would check out the resource I left at your blog and even check out Martha Stewart, I’ve yet to have a problem with any recipe from her.

    Have a great day,
    Debra

  3. Hi SweetMummy,

    Thanks for stopping by. These cupcakes were good. We only had a few and the rest I took to work & they disappeared quickly. πŸ™‚

    Have a great day,
    Debra

  4. I baked the Red Velvet cake for a church social. The cake was a big hit. The guest thought it was amazing, so light and moist and delicious. the cream cheese icing is out of this world. My patiences for cooking is limited but the preperation of this cake is painless and worth it. This cake will be on my favorite list. Thanks for sharing CookBook Diva.

Leave a Reply

