Grilled Cheese for Dinner

I had no choice but make grilled cheese sandwiches for dinner after reading Laura Werlin’s Grilled Cheese Please! 50 Scrumptiously Delicious Recipes. If you’re able to resist, then you’re a stronger person than I am.

For dinner I made tomato soup and the Due Due recipe and it was delicious. Luckily, I have enough cheese left over for another meal. 🙂

Lets take a look at my grilled cheese sandwich.

I began with grating the Fontina cheese as Laura advised.

Then I got the butter and Dijon mustard.

I buttered the top and bottom of each section of Ciabatta as Laura advised then I spread the mustard on both halves.

Now for the cheese. I layered the Brie and Fontina cheeses.

I put the two halves together to make the sandwich and on the non-stick pan it went. The six minutes on one side, six minutes on the other then back for another two minutes seemed like an eternity. You see, I’d been thinking about this sandwich for days.

Waiting. Waiting. Waiting. Soup is dished out and finally the sandwich was ready.

Now, the moment of truth. Would this sandwich live up the expectations I’d created for it? And the answer is yes.

The combination of the crunchy Ciabatta bread with the mild Brie and creamy Fontina melted with Dijon was heaven. Tonight, dinner was like eating at one of those little trendy bistros (I guess I need to get out more). I hadn’t planned on eating the entire section (there was a lot of bread and cheese) but I couldn’t not eat it and afterward I didn’t find the sandwich to be heavy, like a traditional grilled cheese sandwich usually leaves me feeling. This sandwich was a nice, refreshing change from the usual grilled cheese I’ve made in the past. I’m looking forward to trying a few more recipes in this book.

If you enjoy a good grilled cheese sandwich, then Grilled Cheese Please by Laura Werlin should be in your cookbook collection.

Debra
The Cookbook Diva

One thought on “Grilled Cheese for Dinner

Leave a Reply

