150 Things to Make with Roast Chicken by Tony Rosenfeld

150 Things to Make with Roast Chicken
by Tony Rosenfeld
# Paperback: 282 pages
# Publisher: Taunton Press; illustrated edition edition (March 20, 2007)
# ISBN-10: 1561588458

Tony Rosenfeld’s first cookbook, 150 Things to Make with Roast Chicken, is a hands-down winner for me. The reason? One day I was browsing through my cookbook collection and “discovered” it. I pulled it out and flipped through the pages, not really expecting to have anything catch my eye. But as I was reading the recipes I found myself getting very interested and a little excited about roasting a chicken. Seriously, how does that happen? It’s a roasted chicken. Anyway, I decided to try a recipe. I got two chickens, like he recommends (dinner for one night and leftovers for mid-week) and prepared the chicken exactly the way he instructed.

I served my husband dinner and his response was (after twenty years of marriage) “this is the best chicken you’ve ever cooked”.

And he was right.

I admit I had a little doubt when I read the instructions, begin the roasting process with the bird(s) upside down, but I did everything the recipe said to do. And I had the crispiest, juiciest chicken I ever ate. EVER.

Tony covers the basics: brines, spice rubs, glazes and takes on the question of using a rack or not using a rack. If you’re so inclined, he discusses the types of racks available. Then he gets right into roasting the chicken. From a Oven-Roasted Chicken flavored with just butter, salt and pepper to a Grill-roasted Chicken with Tex-Mex Spice Crust. You’ll find a nice selection of recipes that are company worthy.

Once he shows us how to roast our chicken, Tony then gives us recipes for side dishes, pasta, stews, soups, casseroles, wraps and salads. With the side dishes, Tony suggests which type of chicken to use. An example is the Fettuccine with Chicken and Spinach in Porcini Cream Sauce he recommends the Balsamic-glazed Rosemary chicken.

You’ll also find comfort food such as mac & cheese in this book. It’s just that Tony puts a spin on it and offers a Herbed Macaroni and Cheese with Chicken and Mushrooms. Taking an old tried and true and kicking it up a bit is what I enjoy about this book. His recipes aren’t too far out there that it pushes me out way beyond my comfort zone. If you take his suggestion at the beginning of the book and roast 2 chickens then you’ll have dinner one night and leftovers to make a dish like Old-Fashioned Chicken Pot Pie with Peas and Carrots or Moroccan Chicken and Carrot Casserole.

The one downside I found it this book is it’s lack of photos. There are only 16 pictures. They’re beautiful and mouth-watering but I like photographs.

This is always a cookbook I recommend to friends and family. I truly have never made such delicious chicken before and I’ve roasted my fair share.

About the Author:
Executive chef and co-owner of B.Good restaurant in Boston, Tony Rosenfeld is a contributing editor of Fine Cooking magazine and writes regularly for the food section of The Boston Globe and The Washington Post.

Debra
The Cookbook Diva

Leave a Reply

