Back To Blogging

I’ve been away from this blog for awhile. The normal craziness of the holiday, work, snow and a mishap with one of my dogs have left me a little behind on more than just a few things. Most of my time during the holiday season was focused on baking, caring for an injured pup and then it seems most of my energy lately has been spent on snow removal. But first lets start with a two of the gifts Santa gave me.

My new Cuisinart Single-Serve Coffeemaker.

I love this thing. I had another brand and the coffee was lukewarm when it was brewed and there were times when I only got a half a cup of coffee. This baby rocks.

My new Le Creuset 6 3/4 qt oval dutch oven.

I’ve been wanting one for years and this past Christmas I decided to ask for one. I have a feeling their like potato chips, one won’t be enough. I can’t wait to cook in it. In fact, I’ve come across a recipe for beef stew I want to try.

The week of Christmas one of my Shih-Tzus fell and fractured his jaw. Surgery was required and he came home the day before Christmas Eve. He was in bad shape when I brought him home so traveling was out of the question. Our plans changed but Billy is doing much better now.

Billy is doing much better now. He’s eating, he’s put on the weight he lost during the week of the surgery. He’s definitely getting back to his old self and that means I have my shadow back.

Now, it seems like I’ve been shoveling snow since Christmas. The day after Christmas we had a blizzard, the last Friday we received another 10 or so inches of snow and on Wednesday our town recorded 27 inches of snow. Oh, there’s an Alberta Clipper heading our way to end the week. Luckily, we were able to purchase a snow blower and bless it’s little motor it dug us out yesterday. And while I envisioned a big pot of something comforting after a day of work outside I just couldn’t muster it. We ordered a pizza.

That’s what has been going on here but there is a recipe on its way. I’ll be making a Country Dijon Beef Stew and will post about how it turned out.

Debra
The Cookbook Diva

Leave a Reply

