Coconut-Chocolate-Almond Biscotti

As the days get shorter and cooler, I begin the great Christmas cookie search. I’m scanning cooking magazine covers, usually grabbing up the newest crop of holiday baking magazines, I’m visiting cooking websites and pulling out my baking books. I’m always looking for three to four new recipes to add to my cookie tray to mix with my classical cookies (these are the ones that I nor my friends & family couldn’t be without during the holiday). I got a new holiday baking magazine recently- Cookies, Brownies, Bars & More. The name is a mouthful and the recipe I just tried was tasty.

I’m always on the lookout for a new biscotti recipe. I like to try a new one each Christmas and I decided to try the Coconut-Chocolate-Almond Biscotti recipe on page 44. The combo of coconut, mini-chocolate chips and toasted almonds sounded way too good not to try. I love all three ingredients and add dunking the long cookie into a cup of strong coffee only made it more appealing. So, with a pot of coffee ready to brew I got to work.

Flour, baking powder & salt
Brown sugar & unsalted butter
2 large eggs
Add eggs one at a time to the brown sugar & butter mixture
Add pure vanilla extract

sweetened shredded coconut

toasted almonds and mini-chocolate chips
Finally everything gets mixed together

Shape halves into loaves and bake.

After 30 minutes in oven, remove & cool for 30 minutes.

Cut the loaves on the diagonal.

Put slices on cookie sheet and bake a second time.
After completely cooled, I plated a little tasting for me.

All in all this wasn’t a complicated recipe. If you’ve made biscotti before you’ll be able to whip up this recipe. After I had my sampling, I packed up the rest of the biscotti to share with my co-workers. The comments were all positive. Most said that they liked the softer texture of this cookie compared to other biscotti they’ve eaten before. I, however, am not a fan of the softer texture. The cookie tasted a little too cakey for me, I prefer a crunchier biscotti.

There were also a couple of gals who didn’t like coconut but did take a cookie to try and they liked it. The cookie did not have an overwhelming taste of coconut, just enough to let you know it was in there. So, will the Coconut-Chocolate-Almond Biscotti be on my Christmas Cookie tray this year? Probably not. But will I keep the recipe and consider making it again? Sure. Too many people enjoyed it not to keep and bake.

Leave a Reply

